eVisa Kenya

The Online Visa to Travel to Kenya

Apply for Kenya eVisa
For the latest travel alerts and warnings for Kenya please visit our  Kenya’s travel restrictions post.

The Kenya eVisa online is a modern way of applying for a visa and enables travelers to request a visa from wherever they are in the world, as opposed to queuing at an embassy. This approach has spread through many immigration departments worldwide and is a favorable way of applying for a visa. All visa applicants need to do is ensure that they are able to follow the visa requirements for the Kenya eVisa, fill out and submit the application form, and wait for visa approval which will be received via email.


kenyan evisa

The Kenya eVisa is simple to apply for, it is hassle-free compared to the more traditional way of applying for a visa, and the best part of it all, you can apply from anywhere in the world providing that you have internet access.

The eVisa for Kenya is an official visa that can be used for tourism, business, and medical purposes. The electronic visa (eVisa) for Kenya will become available and mandatory for visitors from all countries that need a visa from the start of 2021.

The visa is single entry only, therefore, those leaving Kenya to travel elsewhere and expecting to return will have to apply for another visa.

The validity of the eVisa Kenya is for 90 consecutive days and applicants have 3 months to use the visa from the date of issue.. In total visa holders can stay up to 6 months in the country. The visa must be used within 3 months of the issues date.

In the case that visitors wish to extend their visa for Kenya, this can be done once in Kenya at the Immigration Headquarters in Nairobi. The eVisa can be extended by 90 more days, totaling an electronic visa validity of 6 months (180 days).  Visa extensions for Kenya will not exceed more than the extra 90-day extension and travelers who overstay their visa could be fined or face other sanctions.

Do I Need a Visa to Go to Kenya?

There are 43 countries that are able to visit Kenya without a visa. Most of these countries are located in Africa, although there are some in the Caribbean, Asia, Oceania, and two in Europe (San Marino and Cyprus).

Travelers from countries other than those listed below will have to apply for a visa for Kenya in order to visit. The eligible countries for Kenya eVisa application can be found below in the second list under “Kenya eVisa Countries”.

Countries that do not need a visa in order to visit Kenya for up to 90 days:

  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Brunei
  • Burundi
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia (30 days)
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa (30 days)
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Those with diplomatic passports from Brazil, China, India, Israel, Iran, and Turkey do not require a visa to enter Kenya.


Kenya eVisa  Countries

There are up to 145 countries that are eligible to apply for an official Kenya visa online. All visa applicants are expected to follow the Kenyan eVisa requirements in order to receive an approved visa swiftly.

Nothing found

The above countries are eligible for a Kenya eVisa and will be granted a single entry visa to Kenya with a validity of 90 days. The visa should be used within 3 months of receiving it and can also be extended once in Kenya, should travelers wish to stay for up to 3 months more.

The maximum stay time with the Kenya visa extension is 180 days in total (90-day single entry visa with a 90-day visa extension period) . Unless travelers apply for a visa extension at Immigration Headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya, the eVisa will only be valid for the standard 90-day period.

Entry Ports for Kenya with the eVisa

The eVisa is accepted at air, sea and land borders at the following ports of entry:

Kenyan Airports

  • Eldoret International Airport
  • Garisa Airstrip
  • Jomo Kenyatta Airport
  • Kisumu Airport
  • Lamu Airport
  • Lokichogio Airport
  • Malindi Airport
  • Moi Airport
  • Wajir International Airport
  • Wilson Airport

Kenyan Land Borders

  • Busia
  • Isebania
  • Liboi
  • Loitokitok
  • Lungalunga
  • Malaba
  • Mandera
  • Moyale
  • Nadapal
  • Namanga
  • Taveta

Kenyan Sea Ports

  • Kilindini
  • Kisumu
  • Kuinga
  • Lamu
  • Malindi
  • Mbita Point
  • Muhuru Bay
  • Old Port
  • Shimoni
  • Vanga

Holders of the eVisa can exit Kenya from any port.


Obtain an eVisa